My boys…

I have to write about my boys. These days they are changing so much. Jake gets taller each day. And now, what I thought was leftover from a cold, his voice is changing. It’s getting deeper and cracking! Even his friends are noticing it. It’s kind of funny because it sounds like he is faking this voice or he has a cold but he isn’t. It’s changing. And then yesterday he told me he is so stinky and sweating even though he used deodorant. Ah, puberty at it’s finest!

Now Caleb is keeping us on our toes too. He makes us laugh and he uses all these big words. He also uses this “voice over” voice when he is telling us something he is excited about.It’s funny and hard not to laugh, and harder to pay attention to what he is actually saying cause you are stiffling your laugh while he is doing that voice.

The other night I took Caleb to get his haircut and I got mine cut too. Afterwards we sat in Barnes and Noble with drinks and books. He did homework while I looked over craft and sewing books. I asked him if he wanted me to read aloud to him from his reading book. He took me up on that and I set to reading all about Mrs. Cadaver and others. Apparently the man next to us on the right and the young couple on our left were also listening. The girl of the couple repeatedly looked over our way and smiled. But the man at the next table was even funnier. When we got up to leave, he asked me if I would read more about Mrs. Cadaver to him as he was thoroughly enjoying the story! We all laughed and said goodbye. Caleb and I walked off and about peed our pants with laughter over that guy listening to us! Maybe I should read stories more often at the B & N!!!

Today is the day of the week that I volunteer at the elementary school. I do lunchroom duty. That means I open milk cartons, hand out straws, sporks, napkins, ketchup and anything else they forgot. I give the kids permission to get a drink or extra snack. I wipe tables and chat with the kids and staff. What really gets me is the “designer” lunches some parents pack that the kids totally just dump in the trash. Please, if you are a working parent, don’t feed your guilt by giving your kids organice carrots and dip cause they eat one and throw it all away. Lunchables are high in salt and fat and too many “fat” kids are eating those. It’s a shame how much food these kids throw away each day. You could feed an entire African village from the trash can for a week after one day. I think all the parents should see this behavior because they might feel different about paying $2.50 a day for school lunches.

 

Stepping down from the soapbox. This is something I have wanted to blog about for awhile now.

1 Comment »

  1. […] micie66 wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptIt’s kind of bfunny/b because it bsounds/b like he is faking this voice or he has a cold but he isn’t. It’s changing. And then yesterday he told me he is so stinky and sweating even though he used deodorant. Ah, puberty at it’s finest! b…/b […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

